Error message

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in eval() (line 2 of /var/www/vhosts/ : eval()'d code).

The Institute for Constitutional History (ICH) is the nation’s premier institute dedicated to ensuring that future generations of Americans understand the substance and historical development of the U.S. Constitution. Established by the Supreme Court Historical Society, ICH is now located at the New-York Historical Society and the George Washington University Law School. The Institute is co-sponsored by the American Historical Association,  the American Political Science Association, and the Organization of American Historians. The Association of American Law Schools is a cooperating entity.

ICH also provides a national forum for the preparation and dissemination of humanistic, interdisciplinary scholarship on American constitutional history. The Institute coordinates a doctoral concentration in constitutional studies offered by seven Ph.D.-granting institutions in the Washington Metropolitan Area, runs an annual summer research seminar where advanced doctoral students and junior faculty members from around the world pursue individual research under the direction of leading constitutional scholars, offers short-term graduate seminars in New York and the nation's capital and teacher workshops across the country and hosts colloquia and symposia for scholars working in the field. ICH recently joined with Cambridge University Press to produce a series of books entitled Cambridge Studies on the American Constitution and with the American Historical Association to produce a series of pamphlets on the Constitution.

Click here for a list of other recent and upcoming events

Now Available from Cambridge University Press!

Maeva Marcus, Director

Institute for Constitutional History 
The New-York Historical Society

The George Washington University Law School

2000 H Street NW
, Washington, DC 20052

NEH logo
The Institute for Constitutional History is supported, in part, by a
"We the People" challenge grant from the National Endowment for the Humanities.

Creative: Tronvig Group