Special Summer Offerings

Now through Labor Day enjoy an exciting array of family programs and admission discounts for museum-goers of all ages!

Error message

Warning: Invalid argument supplied for foreach() in eval() (line 2 of /var/www/vhosts/nyhistory.org/httpdocs/sites/all/modules/ctools/plugins/access/php.inc(55) : eval()'d code).

Book Prize


The New-York Historical Society American History Book Prize

The 11th Annual Competition

Purpose: To encourage the general public to read works on American history.

Prize: An engraved medal, patterned after a medal in the New-York Historical Society’s collection, $50,000 cash prize to the author and the title American Historian Laureate. The award will be presented in April 2016 at the Chairman’s Council Weekend with History, an annual gathering of New-York Historical’s most committed supporters.

Eligibility: Awarded for a non-fiction book on American history or biography copyrighted in 2015 that is distinguished by its scholarship, its literary style and its appeal to a general as well as an academic audience. The winner of the 2015 New-York Historical Society American History Book Prize was Jill Lepore for The Secret History of Wonder Woman. Previous winners include Andrew Jackson O'Shaughnessy (The Men Who Lost America: British Leadership, the American Revolution and the Fate of the Empire), John Lewis Gaddis (George F.Kennan: An American Life), Doris Kearns Goodwin (Team of Rivals), David Nasaw (Andrew Carnegie), Daniel Walker Howe (What God Hath Wrought), Drew Gilpin Faust (Republic of Suffering), Gordon Wood (Empire of Liberty), Ron Chernow (George Washington), and Robert Caro’s The Passage of Power: The Years of Lyndon Johnson.

Method of Submission: There is no fee for participation. Publishers may submit as many titles as they wish, but must send six copies of each submission to:

Michael Ryan
Vice President and Director of the Patricia D. Klingenstein Library
The New-York Historical Society
170 Central Park West
New York, NY 10024

Submissions must be received by November 1, 2015

For more information, please call or e-mail:

Michael Ryan, The New-York Historical Society, (212)485-9219, bookprize@nyhistory.org  

Creative: Tronvig Group