The Gilder Lehrman Prize for Military History at the New-York Historical Society

Purpose:  To encourage public attention to the importance of military history for general educational purposes.

Prize:  $50,000 cash prize to the winning author, presented at a formal program held at the New-York Historical Society.

Eligibility:  Awarded for the best book on military history in the English-speaking world, without restrictions as to time, copyrighted 2016 and distinguished by its scholarship, its contribution to the literature, and its appeal to both a general and an academic audience.  The winner of the 2015 prize was David Preston, Braddock’s Defeat, The Battle of the Monongahela and the Road to Revolution.  

Method of Submission:  There is no fee for participation. Publishers may submit as many titles as they wish, but must send at least five (5) copies to:

Michael Ryan
Vice President and Director of the Patricia D. Klingenstein Library
The New-York Historical Society
170 Central Park West
New York, NY 10024

Submissions must be received by November 1, 2016.

For more information, please email or call Michael Ryan:


Creative: Tronvig Group