The New-York Historical Society American History Book Prize

The 12th Annual Competition

Purpose: To encourage the general public to read works on American history.

Prize: An engraved medal, patterned after a medal in the New-York Historical Society’s collection, $50,000 cash prize to the author and the title American Historian Laureate. The award will be presented in April 2017 at the Chairman’s Council Weekend with History, an annual gathering of New-York Historical’s most committed supporters.

Eligibility: Awarded for a non-fiction book on American history or biography copyrighted in 2016 that is distinguished by its scholarship, its literary style and its appeal to a general as well as an academic audience. The winner of last year’s New-York Historical Society American History Book Prize was Eric Foner for Gateway to Freedom: The Hidden History of the Underground Railroad. Previous winners include Jill Lepore (The Secret History of Wonder Woman) Andrew Jackson O'Shaughnessy (The Men Who Lost America: British Leadership, the American Revolution and the Fate of the Empire), John Lewis Gaddis (George F.Kennan: An American Life), Doris Kearns Goodwin (Team of Rivals), David Nasaw (Andrew Carnegie), Daniel Walker Howe (What God Hath Wrought), Drew Gilpin Faust (Republic of Suffering), Gordon Wood (Empire of Liberty), Ron Chernow (George Washington), and Robert Caro (The Passage of Power: The Years of Lyndon Johnson)..

Method of Submission: There is no fee for participation. Publishers may submit as many titles as they wish, but must send eight copies of each submission to:

Michael Ryan
Vice President and Director of the Patricia D. Klingenstein Library
The New-York Historical Society
170 Central Park West
New York, NY 10024

Submissions must be received by November 1, 2016

For more information, please call or e-mail:

Michael Ryan, The New-York Historical Society, (212)485-9219,

Creative: Tronvig Group